Thursday, February 25, 2016

New from Harper Collins Indie List

 
Indie Next List
   
Indie Next List February's Indie Next List Picks—for Kids & Teens!

Independent Booksellers across the country have voted these titles as "Indie Next" picks for February, and we think you'll agree they are excellent choices for your child or teenager's next great read—check out the bookseller reviews below.

And make sure you visit your local, independent bookstore to discover thousands of other titles. If you can't make it into your local, Indiebound now offers one stop shopping online. Just click on the Indiebound links below to buy books directly from their site. Either way, you are supporting an independent bookstore with your purchase.

Thanks for shopping local!
 
   
Pax Pax by Sara Pennypacker illustrated by Jon Klassen

"An impending war, a lost mother, an angry father, and the relationship between a 12-year-old boy and his pet, separated by circumstances beyond their control—the themes are familiar, but Pennypacker twines them together in a beautifully written middle-grade novel that never descends into cliché. Particularly delightful are the scenes in which the domesticated fox, Pax, encounters fellow foxes in the wild and those in which the young boy converses with a new friend on the nature of violence and community. Perfect for fans of The Giver, Watership Down, and Hatchet."
—Kathleen Jewell, Pomegranate Books, Wilmington, NC

INDIEBOUND
 
   
Just My Luck Just My Luck
by Cammie McGovern


"Nearly everyone knows a family with an autistic child, and the other kids in those families face their own challenges. Benny is a sweet and tender young soul who only wants to help the people around him. His experience with his autistic brother has taught him patience and compassion beyond his years. McGovern will reach a new audience with her first book for younger readers as Just My Luck is very poignant and will strike a familiar chord with readers of all ages."
—Jennifer Armstrong, Northshire Bookstore, Manchester Center, VT

INDIEBOUND
 
   
The Girl from Everywhere The Girl from Everywhere
by Heidi Heilig


"Finally, a time-travel novel for the non-sci-fi reader. Nix is the daughter of a Navigator—a person who, with a map, has the ability to sail through time to anywhere on Earth, real or fabled. Her father is determined to return to 19th century Hawaii to save Nix's mother's life—a journey that might erase not only Nix's past, but her birth as well. Well-defined characters, a race against time, a charming love interest, mystical maps, a boy next door who actually came for a fabled map, and a girl without a time on a race to save her life and find her place in the universe combine in this perfect YA read."
—Erin Barker, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA

INDIEBOUND
 

 

Original post: kkmalott.booklikes.com/post/1349119/new-from-harper-collins-indie-list

No comments:

Post a Comment

Leave a comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...